New this year: BRAMS – CRBLM Lecture Series

New this year: BRAMS – CRBLM Lecture Series

To continue the BRAMS mission as a fertile ground for sharing scientific knowledge and to support students’ research and interaction, a new series of events will take place every Wednesday at 3:00 pm at local D-427 (with exception).

Welcome to BRAMS – International Laboratory for BRAin, Music and Sound Research

BRAMS, International Laboratory for BRAin, Music and Sound Research, is a unique centre dedicated to research excellence, located in Montreal and jointly affiliated with the University of Montreal and McGill University. The research centre is devoted to the study of music cognition with a focus on neuroscience.

The idea of BRAMS was born in August 2003, a dream of several Montreal researchers, affiliated to McGill, Concordia and University of Montreal, to create a research centre that would unite their highly complementary backgrounds and common interest in understanding the neural substrates of human auditory cognition and of music processing in particular. In February 2007, BRAMS obtained a major grant from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation (CFI). Thanks to the CFI 14 million dollar grant, BRAMS offers its members, postdoctoral fellows and graduate students the best infrastructure currently available worldwide for experimental approaches to Auditory Cognitive Neuroscience. The main laboratory, now located at Université de Montréal (90 Ave. Vincent-d’Indy, Outremont) offers nine soundproof testing rooms, a fNIRS System (functional Near-Infrared Spectroscopy), a TMS System (Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation), five EEG systems (Electro-encephalography), a DOME with 80 speakers, a fully functional Motion Capture lab and a Bösendorfer piano unique in North America, currently at the Laval campus. Since April 2011, BRAMS is part of the CRBLM strategic cluster – Centre for Research on Brain, Language and Music.

Our interests

The main interests of BRAMS include answering the following questions: Why is the brain musical? How does the structure and function of the nervous system allow us to remember, play, listen and respond to music? How are these functions related to other cognitive domains such as understanding speech? How do these functions change during development, and how do they breakdown in disease? Such questions concerne BRAMS co-directors, Simone Dalla Bella (Professor, Dept. of Psychology, University of Montreal) and Robert Zatorre (Professor, Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University). Dr. Dalla Bella has particular expertise in the cognitive and neural processes underlying music, while Dr. Zatorre is more concentrated on the structure and function of the auditory cortex.

Today, BRAMS is home to more than 60 internationally renowned faculty members dedicated to auditory cognitive neuroscience. Nine of them hold a Canada Research Chair (Isabelle Peretz, Pierre Jolicoeur, Caroline Palmer, Jorge Armony, Nathalie Fernando, Debra Titone, Karsten Steinhauer, Karim Jerbi and Miriam Beauchamp) and Robert Zatorre holds a James McGill Research Chair. Such a concentration of experts in the neuroscience of music and auditory cognition is unique in North America. BRAMS members’ research covers the spectrum from perception of music, speech, and voice to memory and motor performance, with a common interest in the neural substrates of human auditory cognition and music in particular.

Dans Vidéo

Dans le cerveau des jeunes prodiges

On estime qu’il faut 10000 heures de pratique pour un musicien pour qu’il devienne considéré comme étant un professionnel. Mais les prodiges y parviennent beaucoup plus rapidement, et parfois à un très jeune âge. Les scientifiques s’y sont penchés pour comprendre pourquoi.

Le reportage de Normand Grondin de Radio Canada.

 

Le BRAMS – Laboratoire international de recherche sur le Cerveau, la Musique et le Son

Le BRAMS, Laboratoire international de recherche sur le Cerveau, la Musique et le Son, est un centre unique, situé à Montréal et conjointement affilié à l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill. Le laboratoire axe principalement ses recherches sur la cognition musicale, avec une emphase particulière sur les neurosciences.

L’idée du BRAMS est née en Aout 2003, d’un rêve de plusieurs chercheurs Montréalais, affiliés à l’Université McGill, l’Université Concordia et l’Université de Montréal, de joindre leurs différentes expertises, complémentaires les unes aux autres, pour créer un pôle d’excellence dans le domaine de la cognition de la musique. En février 2007, le BRAMS a obtenu une subvention majeure du Fonds Canadien pour l’Innovation (FCI) de plus de 14 millions de dollars.  Grâce à cette dernière, le laboratoire dispose aujourd’hui de l’infrastructure indispensable pour effectuer les recherches expérimentales nécessaires à l’avancée de nos connaissances dans ce domaine en plein essor. Le laboratoire principal, situé maintenant au 90, Ave. Vincent-d’Indy, Outremont (Montréal) dispose de neuf salles de test insonorisées à la fine pointe de la technologie, d’un système fNIRS (imagerie spectroscopique proche infrarouge fonctionnelle), d’un système TMS (Stimulation Magnétique Transcranienne), de cinq systèmes EEG (Électro-encéphalographie), d’un DÔME avec 80 haut-parleurs, d’un système d’enregistrement vidéo « Motion Capture » et d’un piano Bösendorfer unique en Amérique du Nord, actuellement au campus Laval. Depuis avril 2011, le BRAMS est une composante du regroupement stratégique CRBLM (Centre de Recherche sur le Cerveau, le Langage et la Musique).

Nos préoccupations

Les préoccupations principales du BRAMS consistent notamment à répondre à des questions telles que: Pourquoi le cerveau est-il musical? Comment les structures et les fonctions de notre système nerveux nous permettent d’écouter, de nous souvenir, de jouer et de réagir à la musique? Ces fonctions sont-elles liées à d’autres sphères cognitives, telle que la compréhension de la parole? Comment ces fonctions évoluent au cours de notre développement, et quelles altérations subissent-elles en cas de maladie? Ces questions préoccupent les co-directeurs du BRAMS, Simone Dalla Bella (Professeur, Département de Psychologie, Université de Montréal) et Robert Zatorre (Professeur, Institut Neurologique de Montréal, Université McGill). L’expertise du Dr Dalla Bella porte sur les processus cognitifs et neuronaux de la musique, alors que Dr Zatorre se concentre plus particulièrement sur la structure et la fonction du cortex auditif.

Aujourd’hui le BRAMS regroupe plus de 60 professeurs de renommée internationale, dont les recherches visent à mieux comprendre ces questions. Parmi eux, neuf chercheurs sont titulaires d’une Chaire de recherche du Canada (Isabelle Peretz, Pierre Jolicoeur, Caroline Palmer, Jorge Armony, Nathalie Fernando, Debra Titone, Karsten Steinhauer, Karim Jerbi et Miriam Beauchamp) et Robert Zatorre est titulaire d’une Chaire de recherche James McGill. Une telle concentration d’experts en neuroscience de la musique et en cognition auditive est unique en Amérique du Nord. Les spécialités des différents chercheurs du BRAMS sont hautement complémentaires, allant de la perception de la musique, du langage et de la voix à la mémoire et à la performance motrice, avec un intérêt commun pour les substrats neuronaux de la cognition auditive humaine et de la musique en particulier.