Simon Rigoulot, PhD

Supervisor: Jorge Armony, Douglas Institute
McGill University
simon.rigoulot@gmail.com
514-343-6111 ext. 2593
http://simonrigoulot.wordpress.com/

Simon Rigoulot‘s research interests center around the neurobiology of emotion processing. He studied Cognitive Neurosciences in France and completed his PhD in December 2008 from University of Lille 2 (Title: “Electrophysiological and behavioral impact of emotional information in peripheral vision”; Rigoulot et al., 2008, 2011, 2012). In 2009, he held an associate teaching position at the University of Lille 1 for one year.

Later on, he investigated emotional modulations of attentional resources using audiovisual stimulations associating emotional prosody to emotional faces, in Prof. Pell’s Lab (Rigoulot et al., 2012, 2014a).

Since 2012, he works at BRAMS under the supervision of Prof. Armony on the brain correlates of the perception of emotional music and how the brain differentiates emotional music from other types of emotional auditory information like vocalizations (screams, cries, laughs,…), emotional speech or prosody (Rigoulot et al., 2015, Rigoulot et al., submitted). As for August 2015, he also works with Pr. Sarah Lippé on the impact of stress on neuropsychological development by studying behavioral and cerebral responses to emotional stimuli in leukemia survivors.

Simon Rigoulot, PhD

Directeur de recherche: Jorge Armony, Institut Douglas
McGill University
simon.rigoulot@gmail.com
514-343-6111 poste 2593
http://simonrigoulot.wordpress.com/

Les centres d’intérêt en recherche de Simon Rigoulot portent sur l’étude de la neurobiologie des émotions. Il a étudié les Neurosciences Cognitives dans les différentes Universités de Lille (France) et a obtenu son doctorat à l’Université de Lille 2 en Décembre 2008 (Titre: “Impact comportemental et électrophysiologique de l’information émotionnelle en vision périphérique”) sous la direction du Pr. Sequeira (Rigoulot et al., 2008, 2011, 2012). En 2009, il a effectué un an en tant qu’A.T.E.R. (attaché temporaire à l’enseignement et à la recherche) à l’Université Lille 1.

Par la suite, il a analysé au sein du laboratoire du Pr. Pell  les influences cross-modalitaires qui peuvent avoir lieu dans le traitement audio-visuel des informations émotionnelles (Rigoulot et al., 2012, 2014a) et les caractéristiques temporelles du traitement de la prosodie émotionnelle (ton de la voix; Rigoulot et al., 2013).

Depuis 2012, il travaille au BRAMS sous la supervision du Pr. Armony sur les caractéristiques temporelles du traitement cérébral des émotions dans la modalité auditive, avec des stimuli musicaux, et via d’autres supports auditifs tels que les vocalisations (cris, pleurs, rires,…) ou le langage (prosodie émotionnelle ou ton de la voix; Rigoulot et al., 2015, Rigoulot et al., soumis). Il travaille également depuis 2015 avec le Pr. Sarah Lippé sur l’impact du stress dans le développement neuropsychologique en étudiant les réponses comportementales et cérébrales de survivants à la leucémie.