Alexandre Lehmann, PhD

Faculty of Medicine, Dept. of Otolaryngology
McGill University
alexandre.lehmann[AT]mcgill[DOT]ca

Alexandre Lehmann, M.Eng., Ph.D., is assistant professor at McGill University’s Faculty of Medicine and adjunct professor at University of Montreal’s Psychology Department. He is also a principal member of the CRBLM (Centre for Research on Brain Language and Mind).

Alexandre’s research focuses on cognitive neuroscience of human auditory processing. He has been investigating brain plasticity and sensorimotor integration, both in the neocortex and subcortex, using electro-encephalography. Some of his topics of interests are selective attention, consonance perception, rhythmic entrainment and consciousness. He is currently applying those approaches to investigate performance and rehabilitation in cochlear implant users.

In the line with dynamical accounts of cognition and consciousness such as the oscillatory approach set forth by the enactive framework, he seeks to explore the interplay between subcortical and cortical structures. On the long-term he wishes to combine recent theoretical and technological advances, such as neuro-phenomenology, two-body neuroscience and mobile brain imaging, in order to study ecological situations such as collective dancing, chanting or drumming.

Alexandre Lehmann, PhD

Faculté de médecine, département d'otolaryngologie
Université McGill
alexandre.lehmann[AT]mcgill[DOT]ca

Alexandre Lehmann, M.Eng., Ph.D., est professeur adjoint à la Faculté de Médecine de l’Université McGill et professeur associé au Département de Psychologie de l’Université de Montréal. Il est également membre régulier du CRBLM (Centre for Research on Brain Language and Mind).

Ses recherches portent sur les neurosciences cognitives des processus auditifs chez l’humain. Il a effectué des travaux sur la plasticité cérébrale et l’intégration sensori-motrice, au niveaux cortical et sous-cortical. Il s’intéresse en particulier à l’attention sélective, la perception de la consonance, le couplage rythmique et l’étude de la conscience. Il applique actuellement ces approches à l’étude de la performance et de la réhabilitation chez les porteurs d’implants cochléaires.

Il cherche à comprendre comment l’interaction dynamique entre structures corticales et sous-corticales rend possible la cognition et la conscience, en ligne avec des approches oscillatoires telles que proposées par le cadre théorique de l’enaction. À terme, il souhaite combiner les récentes avancées théoriques et technologiques, telles que la neuro-phénoménologie, le “cerveau à cerveau” et l’imagerie cérébrale embarquée, afin d’étudier des situations de la vie réelle comme la danse, le chant ou les percussions en groupe.