Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Ingrid Verduyckt presents «Voice and personality – what are the links?» Thursday April 23 2015, 4pm

23 April 2015 @ 16 h 00 min - 17 h 00 min

*This presentation will be in English. It is hosted by Prof. Sylvie Hébert (http://www.brams.org/membres/sylvie-hebert/)

 

Abstract

The idea that a speaker’s voice quality is indicative of his or her personality can be traced back to antiquity. However, today, we still know little about the nature of a possible link between personality and voice.

In this presentation, we suggest at first to briefly put the question of the relationship between personality and voice in its historical context. Secondly, we will present a psychobiological model of personality: the Reinforcement Sensitivity Theory (RST) (PJ Corr, 2004), which allows us to posit that there is a causal link between personality and voice quality. RST postulates three central neural systems whose reactive sensitivity defines the preferential behaviors of an individual in terms of approach or avoidance. We will see that the central neural structures involved in the three sub-systems envisaged by the RST are structures also involved in the limbic system of vocalization. We then propose a conceptualization of human vocalization as a behavior that can be either of the approach or avoidance type, which allows us to transpose the behavioral predictions from RST to the vocal level. Finally, we discuss directions for future research that this model opens up, and how it could benefit our understanding of vocal motor control as a function of speaker personality.

 

Biography

Ingrid Verduyckt is an Assistant Professor at the Speech Therapy and Audiology school in the faculty of medicine at the University of Montreal. She has a master’s degree in speech pathology from the University of Lund, Sweden, and has a doctoral degree in Psychological Sciences and Education from the Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium. She specializes in voice disorders and has 10 years of clinical experience in the treatment of dysphonia and voice coaching. She conducts research on listener’s perception of voice quality and its impact on speaker perception, as well as on the mechanisms of vocal motor control.

Details

Date:
23 April 2015
Time:
16 h 00 min - 17 h 00 min
Event Category:

Organizer

Eva Best
Phone:
(514) 343-6111 ext. 3167
Email:

Venue

BRAMS
1430 boul. Mont Royal, Montreal, Québec H2V 4P3 Canada
+ Google Map

Chargement des événements

« Tous les événements

  • Cet événement est terminé

Ingrid Verduyckt présente «Voix et personnalité – quels liens?» jeudi 23 avril 2015, 16h00

23 avril 2015 @ 16 h 00 min - 17 h 00 min

*Cette présentation sera en anglais. L’hôte est Prof. Sylvie Hébert (http://www.brams.org/membres/sylvie-hebert/)

 

Résumé

L’idée que la qualité vocale d’un locuteur soit révélatrice de la personnalité de ce dernier peut être retracée jusqu’à l’antiquité. Cependant, nous demeurons aujourd’hui encore peu informés sur la nature d’un éventuel lien entre personnalité et voix.

Lors de cette présentation, nous proposons dans un premier temps de resituer brièvement la question du lien entre personnalité et voix dans son contexte historique. Dans un deuxième temps, nous présenterons un modèle psychobiologique de la personnalité : la Reinforcement Sensitivity Theory (RST) (P. J. Corr, 2004), qui permet d’émettre l’hypothèse d’un lien causal entre personnalité et qualité vocale. La RST fait le postulat de trois systèmes neuronaux centraux dont la sensibilité réactive définit les comportements préférentiels d’un individu en termes d’approche ou d’évitement. Nous verrons que les structures neuronales centrales impliquées dans les trois sous-systèmes envisagés par la RST sont également des structures impliquées dans le système limbique de vocalisation. Nous proposerons ensuite une conceptualisation de la vocalisation humaine en tant que comportement pouvant relever d’intentions d’approche ou d’évitement, ce qui permet de transposer les prédictions comportementales issues de la RST au niveau vocal. Finalement, nous discuterons des pistes de recherches futures que ce modèle ouvre sur notre compréhension du contrôle moteur vocal en fonction de la personnalité du locuteur.

 

Biographie

Ingrid Verduyckt est Professeure Adjointe à l’école d’orthophonie et d’audiologie à la faculté de médecine à l’Université de Montréal. Elle détient un master en orthophonie de l’Université de Lund, Suède, et est spécialisée dans les pathologies vocales. Elle a une expérience clinique de plus de 10 ans dans le traitement des troubles vocaux, et dans le développement de la gestion vocale en public. Ingrid Verduyckt est également Docteur en Sciences Psychologiques et de l’Éducation de l’Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgique, et mène des travaux sur la perception de la qualité vocale et son impact sur la perception du locuteur, ainsi que sur les mécanismes de production vocale.

Détails

Date :
23 avril 2015
Heure:
16 h 00 min - 17 h 00 min
Catégorie de l'événement:

Organisateur

Eva Best
Téléphone :
(514) 343-6111 ext. 3167
Courriel :

Lieu

BRAMS
1430 boul. Mont Royal, Montreal, Québec H2V 4P3 Canada
+ Google Map