“Là est la question” presents to children various research conducted at BRAMS

“Là est la question” presents to children various research conducted at BRAMS

Mar 20, 2013 | No Comments

In 2012, the TV show “Là est la question” came to BRAMS to film two shows, presenting to children and teenagers various questions studied within our research centre: the issue of music and emotions, and the problem of tinnitus. Discover – or have your children discover – those two short videos!

Discover what musical talent is!

Discover what musical talent is!

Feb 27, 2013 | No Comments

On January 19th, 2013, CRBLM and OICRM organized a concert-conference on Musical talent. Watch today the event’s video, and learn more about music and talent, with Gary McPherson (Melbourne University), Danick Trottier (Université de Montréal) and young virtuose Tiffany Poon

NEW!  Bachelor degree in Cognitive Neurosciences
In News

NEW! Bachelor degree in Cognitive Neurosciences

Feb 7, 2013 | No Comments

Université de Montréal should open in Fall 2013 a new Bachelor program in Cognitive Neurosciences; among the four possible specialization possible, one is dedicated to the Neurocognition of music.

Article: “Enfants prodiges: Au delà des mythes”

Article: “Enfants prodiges: Au delà des mythes”

Jan 20, 2013 | No Comments

On January 19th, journalist Caroline Rodgers published an article in La Presse about child prodigies and musical talent, announcing the concert-conference jointly organized by CRBLM and OICRM on January 20th, 2013.

Musicians: Born or made?

Musicians: Born or made?

Nov 23, 2012 | No Comments

Free concert-conference on Music and talent, to be held at Salle Claude Champagne, Université de Montréal on January 19th 2013, at 4pm. 16 year old pianist virtuoso Tiffany Poon will play for us – and Gary McPherson (Melbourne University) and Danick Trottier (Université de Montréal) will demystify musical talent!

To watch a video of the full concert-conference, please click here…

BRAMS guide you through Science Centre’s MUSIK exhibition
In News

BRAMS guide you through Science Centre’s MUSIK exhibition

Nov 14, 2012 | No Comments

Since November 12th, 2012, BRAMS is at the heart of the Montreal Science Centre’ exhibition Musik: From Sound to Emotion. Isabelle Peretz, Robert Zatorre and Caroline Traube were part of the scientific committee and are now virtual guides, explaining visitors the brain’s role in our daily musical experience.

Save the date! Inaugural CRBLM Symposium

Save the date! Inaugural CRBLM Symposium

Nov 13, 2012 | No Comments

CRBLM first annual Symposium on Music and Language: I. Development will be held in Montréal on May 3-4, 2013. Confirmed speakers include Nina Kraus, Jenny Saffran, Laurel Trainor, David Poeppel and Ani Patel among others…

Prof. Peretz to give a Distinguished lecture at Concordia University on November 15th

Prof. Peretz to give a Distinguished lecture at Concordia University on November 15th

Nov 13, 2012 | No Comments

Prof. Isabelle Peretz, BRAMS co-director, is to give a Distinguished Lecture on Thursday, November 15th at 7pm at the Music Department, Concordia University. The talk is entitled “Music, Emotions and the Brain”.

BRAMS welcomes SAMS

BRAMS welcomes SAMS

Sep 5, 2012 | No Comments

BRAMS laboratory is proud to welcome once again the SAMS – Société pour les Arts en Milieux de Santé for its annual meeting 2012.

BRAMS, Banting Fellow hosting laboratory

BRAMS, Banting Fellow hosting laboratory

Aug 30, 2012 | No Comments

BRAMS is proud to host Banting Fellow Patrice Voss, PhD. He will be holding this highly prestigious Canadian scholarship from June 2012 to May 2014.

« Là est la question » présente des recherches du BRAMS aux enfants
Dans Vidéo

« Là est la question » présente des recherches du BRAMS aux enfants

mar 20, 2013 | Pas de commentaire

En 2012, l’émission « Là est la question » est venue filmer deux émissions au BRAMS, afin de présenter aux enfants et adolescents deux questions qui sont au coeur des préoccupations de notre laboratoire: d’un côté, la question de la musique et des émotions qu’elle provoque en nous, et de l’autre les acouphènes. Découvrez – ou faites découvrir à vos enfants – ces deux reportages!

Découvrez ce qu’est le talent musical!

Découvrez ce qu’est le talent musical!

fév 27, 2013 | Pas de commentaire

Le 19 janvier 2013, le CRBLM et l’OICRM organisaient un concert-conférence sur la talent musical. Visionnez dès aujourd’hui cet événement, et apprenez-en davantage plus sur le talent et la musique, avec les conférences de Gary McPherson (Université de Melbourne, Australie), Danick Trottier (Université de Montréal) et la jeune virtuose Tiffany Poon

NOUVEAU!  Baccalauréat spécialisé en Neurosciences cognitives

NOUVEAU! Baccalauréat spécialisé en Neurosciences cognitives

fév 7, 2013 | Pas de commentaire

L’Université de Montréal devrait offrir dès l’automne 2013 un nouveau programme de Baccalauréat spécialisé en Neurosciences cognitives; l’une des quatre orientations possible permettrait notamment de se spécialiser en Neurocognition de la musique. 

Article: « Enfants prodiges: Au delà des mythes »

Article: « Enfants prodiges: Au delà des mythes »

jan 20, 2013 | Pas de commentaire

Le 19 janvier 2013,  la journaliste Caroline Rodgers publiait dans La Presse un article intitulée « Enfants prodiges: Au delà des mythes » annonçant le concert-conférence conjointement organisé par le CRBLM et l’OICRM le 20 janvier 2013.

Né pour la musique?

Né pour la musique?

nov 23, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Le CRBLM et l’OICRM sont heureux d’annoncer l’organisation d’un concert-conférence gratuit sur le talent musical le 19 janvier 2013, à 16h, à la Salle Claude Champagne de l’Université de Montréal. A l’honneur: Tiffany Poon, jeune pianiste virtuose de 16 ans – ainsi que Gary McPherson (Université de Melbourne) et Danick Trottier (Université de Montréal) pour nous expliquer et démystifier le talent musical!

Pour visionner le concert-conférence, veuillez cliquer ici…

Les chercheurs du BRAMS à l’honneur de l’exposition MUSIK

Les chercheurs du BRAMS à l’honneur de l’exposition MUSIK

nov 14, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Depuis le 2 novembre 2012, les recherches du BRAMS sont mises à l’honneur dans l’exposition originale signée par le Centre des Sciences – Musik: Du son à l’émotion! L’exposition, qui tente de répondre à la question « pourquoi la musique crée-t-elle des émotions ? » a été conçu avec le soutien de nombreux scientifiques montréalais, dont Isabelle Peretz, Robert Zatorre et Caroline Traube.

Réservez la date! Symposium inaugural du CRBLM

Réservez la date! Symposium inaugural du CRBLM

nov 13, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Symposium inaugural du CRBLM sur « La Musique et le Langage: I. Développement » se tiendra le 3 et 4 mai 2013 à Montréal. On retrouve entre autres parmi les conférenciers invités Nina Kraus, Jenny Saffran, Laurel Trainor, David Poeppel ou Ani Patel…

Conférence d’Isabelle Peretz à l’Université Concordia le 15 novembre

Conférence d’Isabelle Peretz à l’Université Concordia le 15 novembre

nov 13, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Prof. Isabelle Peretz, co-directeure du BRAMS, donnera une conférence le jeudi 15 novembre 2012, à 19h. au Département de Musique de l’Université Concordia intitulée “Music, Emotions, and the Brain”.

Le BRAMS accueille la SAMS

Le BRAMS accueille la SAMS

sept 5, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Le BRAMS est heureux d’accueillir cette année encore la Société pour les Arts en Milieux de Santé pour sa rencontre annuelle 2012.

Le BRAMS, Laboratoire d’accueil d’un boursier Banting

Le BRAMS, Laboratoire d’accueil d’un boursier Banting

août 30, 2012 | Pas de commentaire

Le BRAMS est fier d’être le laboratoire d’accueil du Boursier Banting Patrice Voss, PhD. Il continuera son postdoctorat grâce à cette bourse canadienne des plus prestigieuses, de Juin 2012 à Mai 2014.